Chocolate Pots

Some days I feel like our kitchen is actually the kitchen from Ready Steady Cook: the contestants each bring a mystery bag of ingredients and the chefs have to come up with a two-course meal incorporating all of them. There’s often random food stuffs hanging around in the fridge and dry stores cupboards in this house and I have to enlist the help of Google to try and find one recipe to rule use them all. Like, I have prosciutto to use and I’ve been thinking of doing something tasty with brussels sprouts – instead of the obvious asparagus spears – dipped in butter then dipped in salty, cheesy breadcrumbs and shallow-fried. Hmm, that may happen some day. There is also a squash that has been sitting forlornly, like a shy, hopeless, little orphan, up against the wall of the counter top for some time. I could make my butternut squash soup again, and maybe substitute pancetta for prosciutto but sometimes I don’t like repeating recipes within a short space of time. Last night, eager for a dessert, I pulled goats cheese, cream cheese and a butterscotch sauce out of the fridge, all of which needed to be used up, and found the perfect recipe: vanilla cheesecake with caramel topping. I still have some gingernut biscuits left in the tube. Man, will I ever NOT have gingernut biscuits in my possession??! Cripes! In the end, the goats cheese was waaaay past its best so we said bye-bye to that and went back to the drawing board.

The Chocolate Pots are sort of along these lines except they’re made of ingredients I pretty much always have on hand: eggs, chocolate, butter, sugar, salt and flour. That is it. Literally. I had been meaning to make the centre a little gooier after the last few tries and luckily I had some gorgeous Green & Black’s white chocolate in the cupboard so ploop! In it went, into the middle of the thick chocolate batter. These pots are mega. Don’t be tempted to overcook them. I added a pinch of sea salt to the batter which works so wonderfully against the super dark chocolate. Thanks to Domini Kemp for this recipe. Makes 4 pots using ramekins measuring 3.5″ across and 2″ deep.

Chocolate Pots

200g  / 7 oz dark chocolate (I used 80-something per cent, and I wouldn’t recommend anything lower!!)
100g / 3½ oz butter
3 eggs
120g / 4 oz caster sugar
30g  / 1 oz flour
One good pinch of sea salt
About 30g / 1 oz white chocolate, broken into pieces
 

1. Preheat the oven to 200C / 400F. Melt the chocolate and butter together in a double-boiler or the microwave. Set aside to cool.

2. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, sugar and flour together. Add the chocolate and whisk well to combine. Scrape down the sides with a spatula. Add the sea salt and whisk again, really well.

3. Divide the batter evenly between the ramekins. Divide the white chocolate four ways and dunk it into the middle of each pot.

4. Place the pots on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 15mins, until the sides have set. Turn off the oven and leave the pots in there for a further five minutes. If you like them really gooey, I suppose you could skip this step. Pull from the oven and allow to cool for a few minutes or you will burn your face off! I speak from experience. Devour and enjoy. Nom nom nom.

One thought on “Chocolate Pots

Leave a Reply

