Another Naughty Breakfast / Something Wicked This Way Comes / White Chocolate & Ginger Cheesecake

If there’s one thing I love doing in the kitchen, it’s taking leftovers from one dish and using them up completely in another. No waste plus weirdo combinations that could never have existed otherwise. I’m really quite sure you won’t find this porridge topping in a recipe book but hey, I could be wrong. I was wrong once, it could happen again.

How did I arrive at this unusual (and somewhat naughty) porridge topping? Well, there is something brewing in Happy Food Baby’s kitchen and it has something to do with her birthday just past. It’s not a birthday without some kind of Birthday Cake, and, while I will not be completing the glorious Milk Bar three-layer Birthday Cake this week, I had another three-layer creation in mind. Let me explain briefly: I’ve never been good at making decisions or choosing just one thing from a whole range of other nice things. I’ll either buy everything or nothing. Something similar was going on in my head when I came up with the idea for a Cherpumple-inspired cake: one flavour simply wouldn’t do. I don’t want to say too much in case my intended creation falls to bits and ends up not being fit for visual consumption (it’ll still taste good, even if it looks terrible). But I’ll give a sneak peek as to what Layer Two is going to be: white chocolate and ginger cheesecake. Hence the porridge topping. The cheesecake base is crushed gingernut biscuits, butter and ground ginger, and there was a little leftover. I stirred some white sugar through it, sprinkled a little over my porridge and added maple syrup. Fun.

Props go to that dandy little scamp Donal Skehan for this recipe. It makes 6 individual cheesecake pots, or you can use a 23cm (approx) springform pan. By the by, I read the recipe wrong and grated 1 tsp of fresh ginger. I really like ginger so I actually took a pinch of the tsp and put it in with the cream cheese mixture. Obviously you don’t have to do that.

White Chocolate and Ginger Cheesecake

200g gingernut biscuits
100g butter, melted
1 tsp ground (powder) ginger
450g cream cheese
200g white chocolate
100ml cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbslp icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar
 

1. In a food processor, blend the gingernut biscuits until they look like coarse sand. Add the melted butter and ground ginger and whiz the mixture up. Press the biscuit mixture firmly into the individual pots/ramekins or the springform pan using the back of a spoon. Put in the fridge to firm up.

2. In a double boiler or the microwave, melt the white chocolate. In a large bowl, throw in the cream cheese, cream, vanilla and icing sugar. Once melted, add the white chocolate and blend all ingredients together, using a spatula halfway through to scrape down the sides. Blend for another 2 mins to get a lighter mixture.

3. Spoon the cream cheese mixture into the pots or springform pan, using firm but gentle motions to spread the cream right to the edges, doing your best to make sure there aren’t sneaky air pockets left underneath. Smooth the top with a palette knife. Put them back in the fridge to set for later.

3 thoughts on “Another Naughty Breakfast / Something Wicked This Way Comes / White Chocolate & Ginger Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

