Wholemeal Brown Bread with Pumpkinseeds

I wanted to make this bread anyway but I also knew it would be a glorious accompaniment to my soup – look at me: homemade soup and homemade bread! Someone put me on tv, I am just that annoying! Just like the soup, it comes from the November edition of Food & Wine, my best friend in these challenging times of unemployment. Boooooo!

This guy requires no yeast, hurrah!, so it takes next to no time to make. It makes two loaves so be generous and give some away to a friend. I am still trying to get through my second loaf – my bowels have been hit with an onslaught of serious fibre. They don’t know whether to rejoice, go on strike or go into hyperdrive. I’ll let you know next week.

By the way, I went to Tesco and couldn’t find wheatgerm in the flour aisle. I assume that’s where it should logically be found but sometimes grocery stores attempt to defy logic just to piss me off (like Dunnes Stores hiding the entire milk section down the back, in the very back corner of the store, on a day when I left the house without my glasses). I don’t know what the wheatgerm would do for the bread – I just added more wholemeal flour. Also, the recipe calls for 40g of pinhead oats (which I had) and 40g of regular porridge oats (which I did not have and wasn’t arsed buying a whole bag of porridge just for that measly addition so I went with all pinhead oats, so sue me).

Wholemeal Brown Bread with Pumpkinseeds

450g wholemeal flour
80g pinhead oats (or whatever kind of oats you want to use)
150g self-raising flour
75g pumpkin seeds (plus some extra for going on top)
2 level tsp bicarb soda/bread soda, sieved
1 level tsp salt
2 tblsp treacle
400ml+ buttermilk (use extra buttermilk if dough is too dry, see #3 below)
 

1. Preheat the oven to 180C. Grease and flour two 1lb loaf tins.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients together.

3. Add treacle to 400ml of buttermilk (warning: do not eat treacle, it is wicked, and not in a good way). Heat gently in the microwave and stir to mix the treacle in with the milk.

4. Pour the 400ml of milk into the flour mixture, keeping a little extra in case your dough is too dry and won’t come together. Mix with a wooden spoon. Then get in with your hands to form a slightly sticky – but not wet – ball of dough. Divide in half.

5. Put a half bunch of dough in each loaf tin and smooth out with the back of a wet spoon or a spatula. Sprinkle the extra pumpkinseeds on top and press them in gently.

6. Oven for 20mins. Then reduce the heat to 160C for another 20mins. Check the doneness* of the bread by inserting a skewer or toothpick into the middle of a loaf. If it comes out clean, you’re in business.

7. Allow the breads to cool on a wire rack. They taste bangin’ with butter and raspberry jam, or dip a slice in your Butternut Squash soup!

* Bet you’re thinking “doneness” isn’t a word. It sounds made up, a bit like “to oven”. But apparently it is a perfectly acceptable word and I would know because a cool chef friend told me so when I giggled at his use of the word.

2 thoughts on “Wholemeal Brown Bread with Pumpkinseeds

Leave a Reply

